The Story Behind the "M"

The "M" is 620 feet above the Missoula Valley floor. It is 125' feet long and 100' feet wide. University of Montana forestry students cut the switchbacks into the side of the hill in the early 1900's. The first "M" was assembled out of whitewashed rocks in 1909, and given a fresh coat of paint by freshmen every year, until 1968, when all those rocks were cemented together with concrete.

Photo by Nelson Kenter, kenterphotography.com

Posts Tagged ‘kayaking’

Becoming an Outdoors Woman Summer Workshop August 7-9

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks' popular Becoming an Outdoors-Woman summer workshop is set for Aug. 7-9 at Lubrecht Forest, east of Missoula.... more

2 Rivers + 2 Hours = Missoula Fun

By JASON SHREDER - Many towns, such as Boise, Asheville, and Bend boast great river opportunities in or close to town--but here's why Missoula trumps them all when it comes to river fun.... more

Becoming an Outdoors Woman Summer Workshop August 1-3

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks' popular Becoming an Outdoors-Woman summer workshop is set for August 1-3 at Boulder Hot Springs near Boulder.... more

Kayaking’s Best: The Rider of the Year and Whitewater Grand Prix

By JASON SHREDER - There are many different platforms to showcase the sport of whitewater kayaking. Whether it's big wave surfing in remote places or whitewater parks nestled in the heart of town, they all cont... more