The Story Behind the "M"

The "M" is 620 feet above the Missoula Valley floor. It is 125' feet long and 100' feet wide. University of Montana forestry students cut the switchbacks into the side of the hill in the early 1900's. The first "M" was assembled out of whitewashed rocks in 1909, and given a fresh coat of paint by freshmen every year, until 1968, when all those rocks were cemented together with concrete.

Photo by Nelson Kenter, kenterphotography.com

Posts Tagged ‘Boating in western Montana’

Boaters: Remember to “Clean, Drain, Dry” This Summer

By JOLEEN TADEJ - The summer boating season in Montana has begun, and more than 24,000 watercraft have already been inspected at aquatic invasive species inspection stations around the state. ... more

Stay Safe on the Water This Labor Day Weekend

By JOLENE TADEJ - Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks wants to remind boaters to be safe on the water this weekend. ... more

Working Dogs Help in the Fight Against AIS

By JOLEEN TADEJ - A unique partnership between Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks and the Flathead Basin Commission is helping promote the use of new weapons in the war against aquatic invasive species.... more