UM’s Breunig Named to NABC’s 2014-15 Division I All-District Team


The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today that the University of Montana’s Martin Breunig has been named to the 2014-15 NABC’s Division I All-District 6 team.

The all-district squads are selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC.  These student-athletes and coaches represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America.

A 6-8 junior forward from Leverkusen, Germany, Breunig (pronounced: BROY-nig), was a unanimous first team All-Big Sky Conference selection and was also named the league’s “Newcomer of the Year.”

Martin Breunig

Martin Breunig. Photo courtesy of University of MontanaBreunig, who was named All-District 6 first team, was ranked fifth in the Big Sky in scoring (tie) and  rebounding, averaged 16.7 points and 7.3 rebounds per game.  He is currently ranked (250 ranked) 11th in the nation in field goal percentage (59.3%) and 96th in scoring.

His 534 points this past season rank him 10th in single-season history.  He scored in double figures a team-high 29 times this year, and registered six double-doubles.

Breunig is one of four league players named to the first team squad, joining Eastern Washington guard Tyler Harvey and Eagles forward Venky Jois, both juniors, along with senior guard Mikh McKinney from Sacramento State.

Also recognized from the Big Sky were junior forward Joel Bolomboy of Weber State and senior guard Quinton Upshur from Northern Arizona, who were named to the second team.  Sacramento State head coach Brian Katz was recognized as the District 6 coach of the year.



Player, School

Mikh McKinney, Sacramento State

Tyler Harvey, Eastern Washington

Martin Breunig, Montana

Venky Jois, Eastern Washington

Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State


Martez Harrison, UMKC

Isiah Umipig, Seattle

Joel Bolomboy, Weber State

Daniel Mullings, New Mexico State

Quinton Upshur, Northern Arizona