Three Griz Named to Mens Basketball All-Big Sky Team

The University of Montana’s Martin Breunig and Jordan Gregory have been named first team All-Big Sky Conference in 2015 as chosen by the conference coaches, announced the league office today (Monday, March 9).

Breunig was also selected as the Big Sky’s “Newcomer of the Year,” while Griz guard Mario Dunn was tabbed an honorable mention all-conference player.

Gregory, a 6-2 senior guard from Pueblo, Colo., is ranked fifth in the Big Sky in scoring at 16.8 points a game.  He is also ranked third (tie) in the league in three-pointers made per game (2.7) and minutes played per game (35.7), 10th in free throw percentage (78.3%), and 11th in assists (3.3 apg).  He was an honorable mention all-league pick last season.

Jordan Gregory (photo by Todd Goodrich, UM)

Jordan Gregory (photo by Todd Goodrich, UM)

Gregory is currently ranked 46th in the country (250 players ranked) in three-point percentage (38.9%) and 53rd in treys made per game.

A 6-8 junior forward from Leverkusen, Germany, Breunig (pronounced Broy-nig) is fourth in the conference in field goal percentage (60.2%), sixth in scoring (16.6 ppg), eighth (tie) in rebounding (6.9 rpg), and tied for ninth in blocks (0.9 pg).  Breunig’s field goal percentage of 60.2% ranks him 10th in the nation.

An outstanding all-around player, Dunn, a 6-0 sophomore point guard from Oakland, Calif., is ranked second (tie) in the Big Sky in steals (1.8 pg),  seventh in assists (4.0 apg), and 11th in field goal percentage (51.6%).   Dunn is ranked 86th in the NCAA in steals, and is UM’s third leading scorer at 9.3 points per game.

Bruenig leads the Griz with 26 double-figure scoring games this season, while Gregory has 23, and Dunn has 16 (including 13 in UM’s last 16 games).

The conference’s MVP is senior guard Mikh McKinney of Sacramento State.  The “Freshman of the Year” is Eastern Washington forward  Bogdan Bliznyuk of Eastern Washington.  The “Top Reserve” is junior guard Marcus Colbert from Montana State, while the “Defensive Player of the Year” is junior forward Jordyn Martin of Northern Arizona.

The Big Sky will announce the 2015 Coach of the Year tomorrow (Tuesday, March 10).


Martin Breunig (Photo ny Todd Goodrich, UM)

Martin Breunig (Photo ny Todd Goodrich, UM)


*#Tyler Harvey, Jr., G, Eastern Washington

Venky Jois, Jr., F, Eastern Washington

*Martin Breunig, Jr., F, Montana

Jordan Gregory, Sr., G, Montana

Kris Yanku, So., G, Northern Arizona

*#Mikh McKinney, Sr., G, Sacramento State

*Unanimous Selection    #Two-time First Team Selection


Connor Hill, Sr., G, Idaho

Mike Scott, Sr., G, Idaho

Quinton Upshur, Sr., G, Northern Arizona

Dylan Garrity, Sr., G, Sacramento State

Joel Bolomboy, Jr., F, Weber State

Guard Mario Dunn (Photo by Todd Goodrich, UM)

Guard Mario Dunn (Photo by Todd Goodrich, UM)


Drew Brandon, Sr., G, Eastern Washington

Chris Hansen, Sr., G, Idaho State

Jeffrey Solarin, Sr., F, Idaho State

Mario Dunn, So., G, Montana

Aaseem Dixon, Sr., G, Northern Arizona

Tevin Svihovec, Sr., G, Northern Colorado

DaShaun Wiggins, Sr., G, Portland State

Jeremy Senglin, So., G, Weber State

MVP – Mikh McKinney, Sr., G, Sacramento State

Newcomer of the Year – Martin Breunig, Jr., F, Montana

Freshman of the Year – Bogdan Bliznyuk, Fr., Eastern Washington

Top Reserve – Marcus Colbert, Jr., G, Montana State

Defensive Player of the Year –  Jordyn Martin, Jr., F, Northern Arizona