Jamar Tabbed Mid-Major All-American

The University of Montana’s Kareem Jamar has been named to the 2013-14 Lou Henson Mid-Major All-America team, the second consecutive season he has been so-honored, announced CollegeInsider.com recently.

This past season Jamar was one of only four players in Division 1 to average more than 18 points, 5 rebounds, and 4 assists a game.  He was ranked fourth in the Big Sky in scoring (18.8 ppg), assists (4.0 apg), and assist/turnover ratio (1.8), and 10th in rebounding (5.6 rpg).

Jamar, a 6-5 senior guard/forward from Venice, Calif., was a unanimous first team All-Big Sky Conference selection this season.  He has been named to the first team the last three years in a row, and has been named to Lou Henson’s Mid-Major All-America team and All-District 6 the last two straight seasons.

Kareem Jamar (32)   Photo by Todd Goodrich UM

Kareem Jamar (32). Photo by Todd Goodrich UM

One of the most versatile players to ever play for the Grizzlies, Jamar ended his illustrious career ranked fourth in school history in scoring and assists, with 1,673 and 407, respectively.  His career totals rank him 13th in Big Sky history in points and 19th in assists.  His 664 career rebounds are the 12th most in school history.  He scored in double figures in 91 of the 121 career games that he played in.

All of the 30 players named to the team are also finalists for The Lou Henson Award, which is  presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years.

Previous recipients of the award include Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary’s 2013), Kyle O’Quinn (Norfolk State 2012), Matt Howard (Butler 2011), and Keith Benson (Oakland 2010).

When he left the game in 2005, Henson was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The winner of the 2014 Henson award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, the site of the Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.


Ike Azotam 6-7 Sr. Quinnipiac
Travis Bader 6-5 Sr. Oakland
George Beamon 6-4 Sr. Manhattan
Taylor Braun 6-7 Sr. North Dakota State
Alec Brown 7-1 Sr. Green Bay
David Brown 6-3 Sr. Western Michigan
Julius Brown 5-10 Jr. Toledo
Glenn Cosey 6-0 Sr. Eastern Kentucky
Torrey Craig 6-6 Sr. USC Upstate
Langston Hall 6-4 Sr. Mercer
Tyler Haws 6-5 Jr. BYU
Troy Huff 6-5 Sr. North Dakota
R.J. Hunter 6-5 So. Georgia State
Jeremy Ingram 6-3 Sr. North Carolina Central
Kareem Jamar 6-5 Sr. Montana
J.J. Mann 6-6 Sr. Belmont
Z. Mason 6-6 Sr. Chattanooga
Javon McCrea 6-7 Sr. Buffalo
Aaric Murray 6-0 Sr. Texas Southern
Jake Odum 6-4 Sr. Indiana State
Jacob Parker 6-6 Jr. Stephen F. Austin
Elfrid Payton 6-3 Jr. Louisiana Lafayette
Devon Saddler 6-2 Sr. Delaware
Wesley Saunders 6-5 Jr. Harvard
Justin Sears 6-8 So. Yale
Kiefer Sykes 5-11 Jr. Green Bay
Jameel Warney 6-8 So. Stony Brook
Jalan West 5-10 So. Northwestern State
Alan Williams 6-8 Jr. UC Santa Barbara
Pendarvis Williams 6-6 Sr. Norfolk